2018 Teachers of the Year, Named.

Congratulations 2017-18 Teachers and Paraprofessionals

The national program is the oldest and most prestigious awards program designed to focus public attention on excellence in teaching.

Texas Teacher of the Year is the highest honor that the State of Texas can bestow upon a teacher and since 1969, the Texas Teacher of the Year (TOY) Program has honored excellence in classroom knowledge.

Every fall, 40 Regional Teachers of the Year are selected– one elementary and one secondary teacher from each of the 20 Education Service Center regions in Texas. Six finalists are then chosen from among the 40 semifinalists. And one of the six will represent Texas in the national program.

Teachers selected for the campus honors are:

  • Acton Elementary School: Shanna McPherson, fourth grade teacher
  • Acton Middle School: John Morgan, band director
  • Baccus Elementary School: Patti Collier, second grade teacher
  • Brawner Intermediate School: Adina Brassie, third grade teacher
  • Granbury High School: Becky Latham, English teacher
  • Granbury Middle School: Heather Garcia, math teacher
  • Mambrino School: Patti Young, second grade teacher
  • Oak Woods School: Shari Middlebrook, first grade teacher
  • Roberson Elementary School: Tracy Porter, first grade teacher
  • STARS Accelerated High School/Behavior Transition Center: Toni Thomas, science teacher



Top campus paraprofessionals are:

  • Acton Elementary School: Ashlee Cogburn, receptionist/attendance clerk
  • Acton Middle School: Jill Ball, special education aide
  • Baccus Elementary School: Abbie Coulson, receptionist/attendance clerk
  • Brawner Intermediate School: Kimberly Bridge, receptionist/attendance clerk
  • Granbury High School: Jennie Younkin, activity fund clerk
  • Granbury Middle School: Crystal Burenheide, office clerk
  • Mambrino School: Jane Lacy, receptionist/attendance clerk
  • Oak Woods School: Penny Krause, receptionist/attendance clerk
  • Roberson Elementary School: Paula Turner, interpreter
  • STARS Accelerated High School/Behavior Transition Center: Vivi Wright, campus secretary

The GISD Employee Recognition Banquet is scheduled for Thursday, April 19 at 6:00 P.M. in the Granbury Middle School cafeteria.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest